My Green City Life


No poo!
August 17, 2008, 9:44 am
Filed under: in the bathroom

It’s the great no poo experiment! The “poo” in this case is shampoo, not poop. Going “no poo” means washing your hair without shampoo. For me, the ultimate goal is to get my scalp to regulate its oil output such that I can simply rinse my hair with water in the shower and not look like a greaseball. I’ve been transitioning to this rinse-only method by using baking soda and apple cider vinegar. The first week I washed my hair with a solution of three teaspoons of baking soda to about a cup of water. Then I rinsed with the same ratio of apple cider vinegar to water. (There was a complete water rinse between each solution — no volcanoes on my head!) Each week I reduced the baking soda/vinegar by one teaspoon.

I’ve now finished my fourth week of no poo-ing. It was my first full week of just rinsing with water. I’m not sure I’m happy with the results yet. The first two weeks, my hair seemed just like normal. Once I hit the one teaspoon week, I started feeling greasier even just out of the shower. Maybe I need to give my head a bit longer to adjust. Maybe I just need to get used to not being as super squeaky clean as I used to be with all the harsh chemicals in shampoo that were stripping my hair of all traces of oil. My hair doesn’t look bad, mind you. I just feel a bit greasy.

I will post another no poo update in a few weeks. If you are interested in going no poo, give it a search. There’s lots of info out there about why and how to do it. Personally, I’m doing it to be rid of chemical-laden shampoo and packaging. Also, it’s an experiment, and I like experiments. I think it will be cool if my head can learn to regulate its oil production without outside influence; in theory, it should. We’ll see if that amount of natural oil production is something I like or not. If not, I may consider going back to the baking soda/vinegar treatment, which seemed to work very well for me. Or I may make some shampoo soap bars. I have made them in the past, and they dried my hair out. However, plain baking soda did that too, but the vinegar rinse softened my hair back out, so maybe that is something to try.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have hair/ skin on the drier side of life. It has been about two years since I have used shampoo on a regular basis. I do condition my hair with a non- silicon based conditioner almost everyday. I use a more organic based shampoo when I di use it — mostly when it is really hot – so I have been sweaty — or when there is a lot of pollen around (heavy allergies).

I did it just by shampooing less and less often. Now,I just sort of know when I need it. Like I said – I do condition my hair ,but less and less shampoo means less and less conditioner. Tons less packaging and chemicals.

Comment by egb63

I’ve been considering de-pooing, too. I thought about it the other day because it’d already been a couple days since I washed my hair, but then I washed it. But perhaps when my current ‘poo runs out.

Comment by Gina

This is awesome. I’ve just barely heard of things like this but I didn’t know for sure if it were real. I just ordered some all-natural shampoo, and I already had another bottle of Treseme in the closet, so maybe once all those run out I will give it a go. by then you will have perfected it, so I’ll just cheat off of you if that’s ok. =)

Comment by Mindy

Just try to make the shampoo last as long as possible — use only a little bit -and sterch out the shampooing as long as you can. get your haur really wet and lather up in you hands. Remember only your scalp really needs to be washed. If you have oily hair or use product , you’ll need to shampoo more often.

Comment by egb63




Leave a Reply

