My Green City Life


My kingdom for a compost pile!
July 31, 2008, 5:57 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen, the green apartment

OK, so I don’t have a kingdom to trade for a compost pile, but it would be really nice to have one. Or access to one very nearby would be great. Or curbside organic matter pick-up would be fantastic. (This last one is supposed to be coming to Montreal… sometime.) This is one of the downfalls of living in an apartment: no yard for a compost pile.

This week I am not collecting my organic matter for my worms. They didn’t seem to be eating as fast as I was feeding them, so I’m giving them a week off. Even when I do feed them, though, there are many compostable things that end up in the trash. My worms can only eat so much! Nearly all of Matt’s coffee grounds end up in the trash. Banana peels go in there. Most of the egg shells too. Anything that is too hard or too big (and unable to be reduced in size) or too protein-y (like beans) or too seedy or too slow to break down ends up in the trash. It makes me sad because I know that it would all happily decompose and turn into beautiful compost if only given a chance.

If you have a yard and are able to have a compost pile, please do so. It’s very low-maintenance, and I bet you will be surprised at how much your garbage is reduced. You can put your yard waste in there too. And you will end up with lovely compost to use on your lovely yard!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh I’m sad you can’t compost everything. I do love my compost pile; we put everything possible in it and it is lovely. We’re gonna have some sweet gunk to put on our garden next year. Well, here’s hoping that someday you’ll have a house and yard again; honestly people like you should be the first to get houses and yards cause you’re so good and green with them.

Comment by Mindy




Leave a Reply

