My Green City Life


Market Report: 28 July 2008
July 29, 2008, 3:35 pm
Filed under: market report

It’s been a while since I did a market report, but then it’s been a while since I’ve been to the market. The real market, I mean. The J-T. I did go to the Atwater market a couple times because it’s so much closer, and I was desperate for strawberries.

I guess I have really been out of the loop because I was somewhat amazed at what all is in season now! Perhaps it’s because the last time I was there, it was all strawberries, rhubarb, and asparagus. Now it’s everything season, it seems! Tomatoes, eggplant, beans, potatoes, corn, peaches, onions, greens, herbs… I even saw some Quebec cabbage, which made me a little sad, cabbage being winter food in my eyes. I’m not ready for summer to be gone yet! No use dwelling on that, though, when there is such an abundance of tasty local summer food available.

I bought what will most likely be my last basket of strawberries for the season. There are fewer people selling them now (although still a lot) and the price seems to be climbing a bit, so I’m guessing they are on their way out. I intend to enjoy these fresh instead of freezing them, as I did with the last batch I bought. Six pints of strawberries in the freezer will make for some tasty smoothies over the winter.

As I said, I wasn’t prepared for all the summer food to be ready already, so I didn’t take full advantage. Next time, you can bet that I will be coming home with corn, peaches, and tomatoes a-plenty! Yumyum! Oh, and okra! I will keep a sharp eye out for okra. I am determined to find it this year.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

