My Green City Life


The Saddest Day of the Year
June 22, 2008, 9:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

According to me, June 21st is the summer solstice, the first day of summer, and the happiest/saddest day of the year. Happiest because it’s the longest day of the year and saddest because you can only go downhill from there. Today, the second longest day of the year (tied, I suppose, with the day before yesterday), it is dreary and rainy as though the earth is crying because it knows that for the next six months the days will be getting shorter and shorter. I always find it odd that come June 21st I feel that warm weather has just begun but we’ve already peaked on sunny hours. Conversely, on December 21st we’re just starting the long haul of winter, but already the days are starting to get longer.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My longest day of the year was cold and rainy. Not summer-y at all. And on the 22nd, I wore one of my heaviest sweaters. I think we got all our warm days in early May, but I hope not.

Comment by Gina

I really love the equinoxes; they suit me so much more–a perfectly even amount of sunshine and darkness…
As for December 21st or whatever it is, double YUCK.

Comment by Mindy




Leave a Reply

