My Green City Life


Market Report : 3 June 2008
June 4, 2008, 7:10 pm
Filed under: market report

I went to the market with M yesterday. It was gray and chilly. On the drive over, I saw a lot of pedestrians and bikers wearing jackets. In June. JUNE! Where is the warm weather???

Because I am going out of town tomorrow, I didn’t buy much at the market. Despite this, I did try to look at everything to see what was in season locally. As predicted, there was a lot more rhubarb than last time. M bought a bunch along with some apples to make a crumble. Mmmmm! Speaking of mmmmm, I saw a sign that said, “Mmmmm, asperge fraiche!” and there was plenty of asparagus to get me “mmmm”-ing. M snatched some of that up too. I saw one lonely container of fiddleheads and was sad that I couldn’t buy them. Next year!

Also appearing from local sources were hothouse tomatoes (“Wow! Vraiment bonne! Sans pesticides!”), a few greens, and radishes. I saw a lot of berries from non-local sources, so I am betting that those will start coming in soon. I know that early- to mid-June is when blueberries start showing up down in the midwest, so I’m expecting to see them within a few weeks. Also, our strawberry jam making extravaganza was in mid-July last year, and I remember that it was towards the end of strawberry season. So it appears that an explosion of deliciousness is just around the corner. I can’t wait!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yay for rhubarb crumbles! Yummy. I want one right now.

I love when you speak French, cause I can actually understand it =) We’ll have to practice some time; i’m so rusty it’s tragic.

Happy Farmer’s Market!

Comment by Mindy




Leave a Reply

