My Green City Life


Riot for Austerity future goals
June 2, 2008, 12:42 pm
Filed under: your green lifestyle

The Riot for Austerity started a year ago, which means I should do a wrap-up post, but in the spirit of putting the cart before the horse, I’d like to first do a looking ahead post. One of the areas of reduction I could have done a better job of tracking is water. We don’t pay for our water usage, and as such, we don’t know exactly how much water we use. However, I could have done some estimations; I just didn’t. I also didn’t work very diligently to decrease our household’s water usage. The water-saving measures we took were passive (old, water guzzling toilet broke so we got a new one) or for other reasons (got a portable washing machine that uses less water than the ancient communal coin-operated machines downstairs).

One water-saving measure I’d like to adopt is taking shorter showers. I don’t think I take really long showers, but they could be quicker. I’d like to at least time a shower and calculate how much water it used. I think it will be an eye-opening experiment that I should have performed a long time ago.

This one has to do more with consumer goods than water, but I’d also like to experiment with going no ‘poo — as in using baking soda and/or apple cider vinegar instead of shampoo. Will this affect my shower water usage? I don’t know. We’ll find out. But at least I’ll be purchasing less, trashing/recycling less, and putting fewer chemicals down the drain.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

