My Green City Life


Downsizing
January 10, 2008, 6:43 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

Recently I was inspired by a post by Sara at Walk Slowly, Live Wildly about nomads, yurts, and simple living. Sara and her small family spent many months this year touring around the US in a camper running on veggie oil. The girl knows about living in close quarters, a lifestyle that necessitates keeping around only the essentials. In her post, Sara discusses applying the nomadic “essentials only” mindset to the kitchen: one bowl, plate, cup, fork, spoon, knife per person. Put the rest away, she says. You can get them out for company.

So I did it today. Instead of putting the extras in a different cupboard, I just rearranged things so that I now only have to open one door to get to my “essentials.” (Space is limited in my kitchen.) We each get a bowl, a plate, a mug for hot drinks, a glass for cold drinks, a wine glass, a fork, a spoon, and a knife. Everything else is hidden behind the other door, which I shouldn’t have to open unless we have company.

We’ll see how it goes. I anticipate dishwashing being less of a headache. Maybe this will inspire us to downsize the rest of our kitchen. We do cook a lot, but how many pots, pans, and wooden spoons does one kitchen really need anyway? A question for another day.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love Sara’s blog! I tell my husband that someday, we will be the ones who sell everything and buy the RV to travel the US. He is on board, and we have been downsizing and considering our options for the past year.

Good luck with the downsizing! it is an addictive process! 🙂

RVM

Comment by Raw Vegan Mama




Leave a Reply

