My Green City Life


The End of Year Wrap-up Post
December 31, 2007, 12:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

On this, the last day of the year, it seems fitting to do a bit of reflection on the year that is about to come to a close. I’ve made quite a few changes this year for the good of the environment. Here are some of the highlights:

  • I rarely use the clothes dryer anymore. I have a drying rack that I rescued from the curb, as well as two clotheslines in my bathroom and one on my balcony.
  • Thanks to Worm Girl, I have a couple pounds of wriggly friends who live in a plastic box and eat my leftovers, thus decreasing the amount of compostable material I throw away. Vermicomposting rules!
  • Taking my cloth grocery bag to the health food store was old hat. Now I tend to bring along lightly used plastic bags for use in the bulk (“scoop your own”) aisle. I’ve discovered that I can buy all kinds of things in bulk that I previously bought in regular containers: olive oil, baking powder, spices, tea, oatmeal, etc. Buying in bulk cuts down on the amount of packaging I consume, and it’s way cheaper this way.
  • This summer I started a little garden on my balcony. I don’t have enough room and sun for much, but I managed to keep a few herbs alive. Nothing tastes better than homegrown food!
  • I’ve learned several new electricty-saving tips and utilized them with very happy results. My latest electricity bill showed we used less than 90kwH per month (the bill comes every other month), which is a 90% reduction of what the average American household uses.

Here’s wishing us all a very green and blessed new year. Be well!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

