My Green City Life


I’m makin’ a list
October 17, 2007, 5:12 pm
Filed under: the green apartment

I decided to make a Christmas list because I’m sure my mom will want to see it soon. I don’t really like gift-giving. I mean, I do. I like giving people presents that they’ll really love. I like making things for people. I just don’t like being forced into it. And I don’t like other people being forced into giving me presents. But if it’s going to happen, I might as well play along and make sure that the stuff on my list is as green as possible.

This year, a gadget made it to the list. I’m not a gadget kind of gal, but this is one thing that I think would be awesome. It’s a solar powered battery recharger. It works like this: you buy your rechargeable batteries, you use them till they go dead, you recharge them using sunlight. How rad is that? And how green! Suddenly, I don’t have to buy any more disposable batteries that have yucky chemicals in them that will just end up in the landfill. (Yes, rechargables have yucky chemicals in them, but they only have to be produced once, and they don’t end up in the landfill.)

I don’t utilize solar energy at all — no solar collectors, no solar food dehydrator, no solar water heater, no garden, etc — so solar stuff is all pretty cool to me. I’ve also been eyeing two portable solar chargers: the Freeloader and the Solio. They both collect solar energy and use it to recharge small stuff like your cell phone or your iPod. Yay, free energy!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

cool blog!!! I like this one and solardoug.wordpress.com . I love all the solar issues. Keep up the great work our planet deserves it. It’s been great to us and let’s be great to it. It’s everybodies duty to chip in and help mother earth. Alternitive energy is the least we can.

Comment by frank




Leave a Reply

