My Green City Life


How To Freeze Leafy Greens
October 9, 2007, 1:46 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

A couple of days ago, I did a very small amount of preserving. I froze some chard, which I’ve never done before. We have been overrun with leafy greens this summer, thanks to our CSA basket, and we haven’t been able to eat it all. I got tired of eating kale and chard, and I got tired of seeing it rot in my fridge because I couldn’t bring myself to cook yet another leafy green dish. So I decided to see if I could preserve it. Sure enough, you can freeze leafy greens! Here’s how I did it.

First, I washed the greens and cut the leaves away from the tough inner rib. The ribs ended up in a compost pile.

Next, I blanched the greens for two minutes.

After two minutes, I fished the greens out of the boiling water and plunged them into ice water to keep them from cooking further.

Finally, I took them out of the ice water, shook off as much water as I could (a salad spinner would have been awesome at this point), and packed the greens into a plastic freezer bag, destined for the freezer. As you can see, the greens wilted quite a bit. Before blanching, the greens probably would have filled that bag. I view this as a good thing because I am running out of room in the freezer!

I’m not sure how I am going to use this chard. It will probably end up in a soup or stew of some sort. I have the feeling that after thawing, it will be too limp for any sort of stir-fry dish. Any ideas? Does anyone have any experience with this?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I froze spinach like that once. I just threw it in a soup recipe. Or, if you’re a mac & cheese fan, it’s easy to thaw the greens (or any other frozen veggie) in the water as you’re cooking your noodles, and then you just add the sauce to the noodles + veggies. Yummmy!

Comment by Gina




Leave a Reply

