My Green City Life


Amazing disappearing cucumbers!
October 1, 2007, 11:56 am
Filed under: in the kitchen

Something awesome has happened. For the first time in a few months, I have exactly 0 cucumbers in my fridge! This past weekend, I decided that I was done with having a whole fridge drawer of cucumbers staring woefully, so I put on the apron and got to work. First I threw out three of them that had gone bad. (I would have fed them to my worms, but bad cukes are a bit too juicy for the worm bin.) All but one of the rest of them were run through the food processor, seasoned, and canned as pickle relish. I’d never made pickle relish before, and it was very easy. Plus the ingredients were all things that I buy in bulk: less packaging, better pricing. The last cucumber was diced and made into a tasty creamy cucumber dip. And tada! No more cucumbers in the house… at least until Wednesday when we pick up our next CSA basket!

BTW, today is World Vegetarian Day. Skip on the meat for a day, would ya?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] the refrigerator pickles and the three and a half pints of pickle relish that I mentioned yesterday, I also made four quarts of regular ol’ dill pickles. The first batch of them finished […]

Pingback by My Green City Life Blog » While we’re talking about cucumbers…

[…] the refrigerator pickles and the three and a half pints of pickle relish that I mentioned yesterday, I also made four quarts of regular ol’ dill pickles. The first batch of them finished […]

Pingback by While we’re talking about cucumbers… « My Green City Life




Leave a Reply

