My Green City Life


Change The Margins
September 13, 2007, 9:30 am
Filed under: on the town, your green lifestyle

Doing my green blog rounds this morning, I came across a link (I can’t remember where I found it!) to Change The Margins, a site encouraging people to make the margins on their documents smaller to save paper. I have always been one to fiddle with the margins before printing from Microsoft Word and other similar programs. I also tend to shrink the text size and the leading (the space between the lines). Is it because I like saving paper and creating less waste? Probably. Is it because I want to save money by not having to buy as much paper? Probably that too. I also like to think it’s the graphic designer in me trying to keep the world a little less full of ugly Word docs. All three are good reasons to make the tiny change that over time and with enough people implementing the change can have a big effect.

Some highlights on the site: A study at Penn State shows that changing the default margin settings campus wide could save 72 acres of forest. Also, a petition to get Microsoft to change the default margins in Word. I’d say that’s worth the click.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

