My Green City Life


Dark Village
September 12, 2007, 8:52 am
Filed under: your green lifestyle

Kyle from the Riot For Austerity sent a link to an article on the BBC site about a village in Taiwan that is on the verge of getting electricity for the first time. One of the most interesting parts of the article is that the elders in the village are all about getting electricity while the younger folks are not so keen on it; the former excited to be able to have refrigerators, dishwashers, and TVs, the latter worried that the strong sense of community and connectedness with nature will disappear.

It makes you think. If you’d never had electricity before, would you want it? I tend to think yes, of course I’d want it, but I’d use it sparsely and responsibly. But electrical gadgets are hard to say no to, and soon you are depending on devices you never knew you needed. The last time the electricity went out in my apartment, I was amazed at how much of my day was interrupted. So life without electricity as a choice… sounds really hard, but obviously some people do it and don’t want to change. Maybe I’ll test myself and have a day without electricity. Has anyone done this before? Any pieces of advice?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

