My Green City Life


Harvest time
September 1, 2007, 5:01 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

If I seem to be talking a lot about food lately, it’s because it’s harvest time! This past month has probably found the casual vegetable gardener with more tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, etc. than she knows what to do with. As one who lives in an apartment and (sadly) has no garden, I am not in a constant battle with the garden to keep things from getting out of hand. However, I can still easily observe that it’s peak veggie time: my CSA basket keep getting bigger and more varied, and the farmers market is flooded with all kinds of different vegetables.

I went to the farmers market yesterday and witnessed a very surprising amount of people driving through the “alleys” behind the rows of stalls, buying bushels full of tomatoes with the intent, I assume, to take them home to can. Maybe those people inspired me. Maybe it was just the abundance of good food surrounding me. In any case, I bought more food than I had originally intended, and the past two days have found me preserving the summer’s harvest to eat during the winter.

Here’s what I did (with a bit of help from Matt): I froze one and half heads of cauliflower. I made two quarts and one pint of pickles. (I’m down to two cucumbers in the fridge!) I made zucchini muffins and grated and froze enough zucchini and summer squash for three more batches of muffins. Matt made three batches of baba ganouj — two for eating straight away and one as a test batch for freezing — and froze enough eggplant for two more batches of baba ganouj. I chopped up the rest of the dill that didn’t get used for pickles (it took a long time; I bought a ton!) and froze it.

Whew! I’m tired! But the rest of this three day weekend brings more work: tomorrow a friend and I are going to go be some of those people in their car at the market, driving behind the stalls and buying up bushels of tomatoes to take home and can. It’s a lot of work for sure. But it’s all worth it when you can have a taste of summer in the middle of the winter and know that it wasn’t shipped in from thousands of miles away.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

