My Green City Life


I made the leap
August 16, 2007, 2:24 pm
Filed under: in the bathroom

This past weekend, I visited the Botanical Garden with my mom and one of my sisters. It was beautiful, as always, and a delightful way to spend half a day. The last section we visited before heading home was the Courtyard of the Senses which is devoted to plants that are soft, sticky, rough, prickly, and/or smelly. We had fun crushing all the different leaves and flowers between our fingers and then breathing in the aromas. One of the plants in the soft section caught our attention for a different reason. As my sister put it, the leaves of this certain plant would make really good toilet paper. It got me thinking.

Then today, as luck would have it, we ran out of toilet paper. I thought back to the Botanical Garden and wished I had that plant growing in my bathroom. It was so soft and lovely, so much more sturdy than regular toilet paper. Almost as nice as cloth. *Bing!* That’s the sound of the light going on in my head.

Yes, dear reader, today I made the leap. I cut the sleeves off of an old short-sleeve shirt (because it was there and I really had to go) and had my inaugural cloth toilet paper experience. To make it even sweeter, I let the yellow mellow. 🙂

In the hours since, I have cut up a few squares from an old flannel sheet. I also sewed up a very quick and dirty drawstring bag for stashing the used cloths before laundry day. They all are waiting for me in the bathroom, and I feel very accomplished!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

