My Green City Life


CSA score
August 9, 2007, 2:49 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen, your green lifestyle

Check out that haul! Our CSA basket keeps getting bigger and bigger each week. This week marks the first appearance of leeks, turnips, butter lettuce, kohlrabi, and (thank the lord) tomatoes! Sadly, the big (huge!) tomato got a bit mushed on the walk home. Happily, that meant we had to eat some of it straight off. Oh. My. Goodness. It was soooo yummy! Finally, a summer tomato that actually tastes like a tomato! Is there anything better?? I literally swooned as I ate it. I told you that I love summer food!

We now have 5 cucumbers in the fridge. Last week we had 8 and somehow managed to consume them all in the form of stuffed cucumbers with herbed cottage cheese, salad, sushi rolls, pickles, gazpacho, and a weird Eastern European sauerkraut casserole thing. But I am running out of ideas. Anyone have a favorite cucumber recipe? My family is in town this week visiting, so hopefully they will enjoy some local, organic cukes.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

