My Green City Life


Summer food
July 29, 2007, 3:10 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen, on the town

I love food. I love looking at it, smelling it, cooking it, growing it, and of course eating it! Summer time is, in my opinion, the best time for food. And the best place to get summer food, besides your own garden (which I, sadly, do not have) is the farmers market! Most of the food is super fresh and local and sometimes organic.

The farmers market I frequent doesn’t have rules against selling non-local food, so you will see things like mangos and pineapples and other produce that could never be grown around here. I think the farmers market should be just what the phrase implies: a market for local farmers to sell their produce. Let the big box grocery stores sell foreign non-seasonal produce if they must, but please keep it out of my farmers market! This is where I could easily get on my soapbox and go on and on…

But back to the happiness that is the farmers market! It’s so fun to get lost among the stalls full of beans, tomatoes, lettuce, corn, potatoes and berries. Two or three weeks ago, zucchini was going for a dollar each. Now you can get four for a dollar. A few of the stalls had eggplant, and a few had peaches, so I’m guessing that those will be around in much more abundance (and will be cheaper) within the next few weeks. Buying what is at the peak of its season means that you get delicious food at a really good price, and you get to know the growing cycles in your part of the world.

As for me, I got a whole slew of potatoes, five tomatoes, a dozen eggs, half a watermelon, a head of broccoli, and a calzone for lunch all for $14. You gotta love summer food!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

make sure you check around the back of the stalls for extra bargains! one can find so many different kinds of veggies at a reduced price, just because they need to be eaten quickly. a real deal. it is usually how i get my broccoli. cabbage can also be kept for longer periods of time. just peel off the leaves that are icky.

Comment by mary j

A very good point! I often find large amounts of veggies at bulk prices “around the back” which is good for when you decide to preserve the harvest!

Comment by Danica Lyons

I am ever so ‘green’ with envy at the array of goodies in your photo. Yum.

Comment by Bryan

[…] Check out that haul! Our CSA basket keeps getting bigger and bigger each week. This week marks the first appearance of leeks, turnips, butter lettuce, kohlrabi, and (thank the lord) tomatoes! Sadly, the big (huge!) tomato got a bit mushed on the walk home. Happily, that meant we had to eat some of it straight off. Oh. My. Goodness. It was soooo yummy! Finally, a summer tomato that actually tastes like a tomato! Is there anything better?? I literally swooned as I ate it. I told you that I love summer food! […]

Pingback by My Green City Life Blog » CSA score




Leave a Reply

